Page d'accueil Puglia Imperiale Tourisme italianoenglishdeutschfrançaisespañol češtinadanskελληνικάeesti keelsuomimagyarlietuviu kalbalatviešu valodamaltinederlandspolskiportuguêsslovenčinaslovenščinasvenskaromânăбългарски 日本語 (japanese)русский язык简体中文 (chinese)
Page d'accueil Puglia Imperiale Tourisme Page d'accueil  qui sommes-nous ?  magazine   contacts  presse  liens  stl   
  flux rss et gadget  plan du site  recherche   
Taille de la policePolice standardPetitMoyen
Ajouter à my.pugliaimperiale.com AJOUTER À MY.PUGLIAIMPERIALE.COM
A faire Organisez votre voyage multimédia
L'histoire
Le territoire
Les villes
Trésors d'art et d'histoire
Itinéraires
Sur les traces de Frédéric II de Souabe
A la découverte du peuple mystérieux des Hypogées
Itinéraire du goût sur les routes du vin et de l’huile
La terre des grandes Batailles : Hannibal et la Rome impériale
Trésors venus de la mer et archéologie sous-marine dans les Pouilles impériales
L’archéologie préhistorique du paysage
Mer, marais salants et zones humides
Les Murge
Dans la vallee d'Ofanto: le train de l'archeologie
 
   
Vous êtes ici: Accueil > Où aller > Itinéraires > Sur les traces de Frédéric II de Souabe
Version imprimableVersion imprimable Sur les traces de Frédéric II de Souabe
Envoyer par EmailEnvoyer par Email
Itinéraire historique et culturel Itinéraire historique et culturel
Sur les traces de Frédéric II de Souabe
De sang allemand et normand, né par hasard à Jesi, Frédéric II considéra toute sa vie l'Italie comme sa vraie patrie. Il y était attaché en raison de la chaleur de ses habitants, de la douceur du climat et des habitudes de vie. Tout en conservant une cour qui voyageait d'un bout à l'autre de l'Empire, il choisit d'établir sa résidence officielle dans les Pouilles, et fit construire son palais impérial à Foggia. L'entière région garde aujourd'hui encore les traces de la culture de Frédéric, ouvert, tolérant, extrêmement spirituel et jovial. Lorsque le voyageur atteint le cœur des Pouilles impériales, il peut sentir, comme par magie, le même "souffle vital" qui enchanta le Puer Apuliae, et il a hâte de jouir de toutes ces beautés, ces odeurs et ces saveurs, de se perdre dans les villages, parmi les pierres rosées des ruelles, entre les châteaux et les cathédrales, au sein des réserves naturelles ou au fin fond des grottes souterraines humides d'histoire, enveloppé de la chaleur et de l'envie de rêver des gens qui peuplent ces terres.
En compagnie d'un guide idéal, l'empereur en personne, nous dessinons un itinéraire qui nous conduit à travers l'excellence culturelle, artistique, naturelle et religieuse de cette région. Ce plongeon dans l'histoire commence devant la Porte de S. Andrea (également appelée "Arc de Frédéric II") de la ville d'Andria, fidèle à l'empereur, comme en témoigne l'inscription gravée en 1230: "Andria fidelis nostris affixa medullis". L'histoire de l'Empire est intimement liée à cette ville. C'est ici que Frédéric annonça la naissance de son deuxième enfant, Corrado, en 1228 et c'est également ici, dans la crypte de la majestueuse Cathédrale S. Maria Assunta (XII – XV siècles), que reposent les dépouilles de deux des trois impératrices épouses du "stupor mundi": Yolande de Brienne, décédée à l'âge de seize ans, peu après la naissance de Corrado, et Isabelle d'Angleterre, elle aussi morte en couches, à Foggia.

À quelques kilomètres de la ville d'Andria se dresse, solitaire, le château Castel del Monte, connu dans le monde entier pour son inimitable forme octogonale, monument d'une valeur exceptionnelle, grâce à son architecture parfaite, à l'harmonie et à la fusion d'éléments culturels issus du Nord de l'Europe, du monde musulman et de l'Antiquité classique. Frédéric II voyait avant tout les châteaux comme les outils capables de représenter au mieux la force de l'État. Il fut en effet le premier à imaginer et à réaliser un "système de châteaux" pour gouverner le territoire. Castel del Monte, le plus représentatif et emblématique de ces châteaux, constitue le plus grand trésor des Pouilles Impériales: un manoir où l'empereur ne séjourna sans doute jamais, mais qui, chargé d'évocations symboliques, porte plus que tout autre lieu, dans l'imaginaire collectif, les traces de sa présence menaçante. Du haut du Castel del Monte, splendide bâtiment inscrit au patrimoine de l'humanité de l'UNESCO en 1996, on peut admirer le territoire dans son ensemble. De ses imposantes fenêtres bilobées et trilobées, on domine un panorama qui s'étend jusqu'à la zone du Gargano.

Si le visiteur se penche de l'autre côté, c'est le spectacle d'une véritable "mer de pierre" qui s'ouvre devant lui: les Murge. Ce territoire offre des paysages mystiques et lunaires, aux horizons indéfinis, qui créent un espace de réflexion et de spiritualité, et permettent de percevoir la présence de l'empereur qui aimait profiter en ces lieux des rares périodes de paix et de repos que lui concédait l'exercice de ses fonctions d'homme d'État, en s'adonnant à l'art noble de la fauconnerie. Cet esp

 
  TEMPS CONSEILLÉ:  
  5 Jours  
  NIVEAU DE DIFFICULTÉ:  
  FacileFacileFacileFacileFacile  
A visiter au cours de cet itinéraire:
Cathédrale  Trani
Castel del Monte Andria
Château souabe Trani
Château souabe Barletta
Basilique du Saint Sépulcre Barletta
Cathédrale de Sainte Marie Majeure Barletta
Cathédrale Santa Maria Assunta Andria
Eglise de San Adoeno Bisceglie
Porte S. Andrea Andria
Chateau Normand Souabe Canosa di Puglia
Chateaux Normand Souabe (Vestiges) Spinazzola
Synagogue de Scolanova Trani
Torre Maestra Bisceglie
Rocca del Garagnone Spinazzola
Les villes à voir:
Andria
Barletta
Bisceglie
Canosa di Puglia
Corato
Margherita di Savoia
Minervino Murge
S. Ferdinando di Puglia
Spinazzola
Trani
Trinitapoli
   
 
Agenzia per l'Occupazione e lo Sviluppo dell'area Nord Barese Ofantina - s.c.a r.l.
Partita Iva 05215080721
Puglia Imperiale – Sede: Corso Cavour, 23 - Corato (BA) Italy
Tel. 080.4031933 - Fax 080.4032430
Union européenne Ministero dell'Economia e delle Finanze Agenzia per l'Occupazione e lo sviluppo dell'area Nord Barese / Ofantina Regione Puglia Ente Nazionale Italiano per il Turismo Page d'accueil
 
Crédits
Conditions d'utilisation
Privacy Policy

Puglia Imperiale Tourism home page italianoenglishdeutschfrançaisespañol češtinadanskελληνικάeesti keelsuomimagyarlietuviu kalbalatviešu valodamaltinederlandspolskiportuguêsslovenčinaslovenščinasvenskaromânăбългарски 日本語 (japanese)русский язык简体中文 (chinese)
Puglia Imperiale Tourism home page Home Page  about us  magazine  contact us  press area  links  stl   
  feed rss and gadgets  sitemap  search   
Font sizeStandard characterSmall characterMedium character
Add bookmark to my.pugliaimperiale.com ADD BOOKMARK TO MY.PUGLIAIMPERIALE.COM
What to do Plan your trip Multimedia
History
The area
Towns
Treasures of art and history
Excursions
Trani charms you - Week end in Trani
Taking a stroll in Puglia Imperiale
Discovering the mysterious population of the hypogea
Itinerary of flavours on the Roads of Wine and Oil
A land of great Battles: Hannibal and the Imperial Rome
See treasures and underwater archaeology in the Puglia Imperiale area
The prehistoric archaeology of the landscape
Sea, Saltworks and Swampy Areas
The Murge
In the valley of Ofanto: the archaeology train
 
   
You are Here: Home > Where to go > Excursions > Taking a stroll in Puglia Imperiale
Printable versionPrintable version Taking a stroll in Puglia Imperiale
Send by emailSend by email
Cultural-Historical Excursion Cultural-Historical Excursion
Taking a stroll in Puglia Imperiale
Frederick II, of German and Norman descent and accidentally born in Jesi, always considered his real homeland to be Italy. He was fond of the mild climate, the warmth of the people and their way of life. Although he had an itinerant Court that travelled to the different corners of the Empire, he chose to have an official residence in Puglia, and had the Imperial Palace erected in Foggia. To this day the region still bears the traces of Frederick’s open and tolerant, highly spiritual and jovial culture. When you arrive at the heart of Puglia Imperiale, you feel, as if by magic, the same “vital breath” that enchanted the Puer Apuliae, or Son of Apulia, and cannot wait to savour its beauties, smells and flavours in the rose-coloured stone alleys of the villages, in the castles and cathedrals, nature reserves or in the subterranean grottos steeped in history, with the warmth and love for daydreaming of the local people.
The itinerary, ideally accompanied by the same Emperor, leads us to the cultural, artistic, environmental and religious excellences of these areas. Delving into history starts with Porta di S. Andrea, also known as “The Arch of Frederick II”, at the entrance of Andria, referred to as a “faithful” town on a plaque inscribed in 1230: “Andria fidelis nostris affixa medullis”. This town is inextricably linked to imperial exploits. Andria is where Frederick announced the birth of his second son, Corrado, in 1228 and where, in the crypt of the majestic Cathedral S. Maria Assunta (12th – 15th century), are preserved the clothes of two of the three Empresses, wives of the “stupor mundi” (Wonder of the World): Iolanda of Brienne, who died at sixteen after giving birth to Corrado, and Isabella of England, who also died during childbirth in Foggia.
The Castel del Monte stands in a solitary position a few kilometres outside the town of Andria and is famous worldwide for its unmistakable octagonal form, outstanding in its formal perfection and harmonious blending of cultural elements from northern Europe, the Muslim world and classical antiquity. For Frederick II, castles were the principal means of expressing the power of the state, and he is in fact the first person to have conceived and constructed a “network of castles” to rule the land. Castel del Monte, the most representative and emblematic of these castles, is the greatest treasure of Puglia Imperiale: a mansion that the Emperor probably never visited but his incumbent presence is imagined by the public there more than at any other due to its symbolic suggestiveness. At Castel del Monte, a splendid building made a world heritage site by UNESCO in 1996, one can admire the entire surrounding area. A dominating landscape visible from the castle’s imposing double and triple lancet windows stretches all the way to Gargano.
In the opposite direction, a “sea of stone” opens out in front of the beholder: the Murge. In this area one can admire a boundless mystical and lunar countryside foretelling the presence of the Emperor, who loved to roam the area during the few periods of peace and rest granted him between carrying out his government functions, and delighted in the noble art of falconry hunting. This area is now the Parco Nazionale dell’Alta Murgia, the very first rural park in Italy, and also comprises the municipalities of Andria, Corato, Minervino and Spinazzola. We are in the kingdom of the lesser kestrel, so dear to the nature-loving Emperor, in a context of particular environmental importance where the signs of man’s stratifications are tangible in an elaborate system of cattle-tracks, low in secco walls, farms and sheep farms dominated from above by the Rocca del Garagnone, one of Frederick’s ancient castles, now ruined and that time has blended in with the rock, bestowing the hill with a striking nature.
The abundant farms, currently<

 
  RECOMMENDED DURATION:  
  5 Days  
  DIFFICULTY LEVEL:  
  EasyEasyEasyEasyEasy  
What to visit on this excursion:
Cathedral  Trani
Castel del Monte Andria
Swabian castle Trani
Swabian castle Barletta
Basilica of Santo Sepolcro Barletta
Cathedral of Santa Maria Maggiore Barletta
Cathedral of Santa Maria Assunta Andria
Church of San Adoeno Bisceglie
Porta S.Andrea Andria
Norman Swabian Castle Canosa di Puglia
Swabian Norman Castle (Ruins) Spinazzola
Scolanova Synagogue Trani
Torre maestra Bisceglie
Rocca del Garagnone Spinazzola
Towns to visit:
Andria
Barletta
Bisceglie
Canosa di Puglia
Corato
Margherita di Savoia
Minervino Murge
San Ferdinando di Puglia
Spinazzola
Trani
Trinitapoli
   
 
Agenzia per l'Occupazione e lo Sviluppo dell'area Nord Barese Ofantina - s.c.a r.l.
Partita Iva 05215080721
Puglia Imperiale – Sede: Corso Cavour, 23 - Corato (BA) Italy
Tel. 080.4031933 - Fax 080.4032430
European Union Economy and Finance Ministry North Barese/Ofantino Regional Employment Agency Puglia Region Italian National Tourist Board Home Page
 
Credits
Conditions of Use
Privacy Policy