Of Romanesque-Pugliese architecture, it was founded in 1197 by Falco, a judge in the court of Henry VI and descendent of the Falcone family. Built outside the walls of the ancient “suburb”, in 1480 the town was knocked for safety reasons and the entire area was isolated, composed of a church, garden and cemetery. The building is a rare example of Pugliese architecture with a central dome. The dome is set on a square base and is externally covered by a pyramidal roof. The smooth façade includes a cusp and terminates in crowning arches. The portal has a double hooked arch. The side wings, also cusped, mirror the facade design. The inside of the church hosts a single aisle with vaulted areas that terminate in a semi-circular apse. The church interior hosts a canopy with two columns that rest on two small lions and a solid baptismal font which was exchanged with the font in the cathedral in 1693. The northern courtyard, along the left side of the church, contains three burial monuments to the noble Falcone family from Bisceglie, as well as the family coat of arms: a falcon surmounted by a star. The marble arch in honour of Riccardo Falcone was created by Pietro Facitolo of Bari, the tombs of Basilio and Mauro and the children’s tomb were entrusted to Anseramo of Trani (1276).The church furnishings also included two important pieces of iconic art dating from the XIII century, however they are no longer there. These pieces represented St. Margaret and St. Nicolas and a thirteenth century tablet of the Virgin Mary with Child giving their blessing. They are currently in an art gallery in the region.
During restoration work in 1896-97 the original external level of the church was discovered, as well as a stone floor with a sculptured coat of arms and an inscription.